Calibrating iMac under Windows 10

Home Forums Help and Support Calibrating iMac under Windows 10

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

GD314
    Participant

Hi

First, I’m a newbie to color management, so forgive the questions…

I recently bought an iMac 27 and installed Windows 10 on it. iMac are factory calibrated, and indeed, the colors look very good under macOS without any adjustment (I know this can be validated only by a mesurement, but the subjective perception is very good).

Unfortunately, the dedicated ICC profile under macOS obviously doesn’t work under Windows (although I thought ICC format was OS independent) : colors are pretty awful, blue becomes dark blue, etc. The graphic card drivers come with “AMD settings” where you can adjust color temperature, but I left it to “Automatic” as setting it to 6500K generates oversaturated red. Then, I decided to buy an x-rite i1 Display and calibrate my iMac.

I used i1 Profiler and calibrated using the “White LED” correction and the following targerts : 6500 K, gamma 2.2, 120 cd/m². The result is not too bad (subjectively, though).

Then, I used DisplayCAL (correction : Spectral LCD white LED, targets : 6500 K, gamma 2.2, 120 cd/m², very large testchart for LUT profile). The result looks ok, too.

I used DisplayCAL “Verification” for both profiles. What suprises me is that if the profile from DisplayCAL obviously get better results (average deltaE 0.21, max 1.1 vs average 0.49 and max 1.75 for i1 Profiler), my perception is different : in very light shades of grey (from 247 to 255), a red shift is visible when using DisplayCAL generated profile, but not with i1 Profiler profile. And as many Windows apps use theses shades, it’s pretty disturbing.

When displaying gradients (black/white), I also can observe smoother transitions with the i1 Profiler profile. And in the very dark shades, a strange red shift too (whatever profile).

Should I upload both measurement reports?