Calibrated vs Uncalibrated – Does this look right?

Home Forums General Discussion Calibrated vs Uncalibrated – Does this look right?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

nosauce
    Participant

https://imgrpost.com/nosauce/?list=images&sort=date_asc&page=1

I’m new to Monitor Calibration and was wondering if I did things correctly and my calibrated monitor is displaying colors as intended. I was really disappointed with my new laptop when I noticed that everything looked really washed out, especially when viewing text with a light background. I’m happy that the calibration fixed this issue.
    However…
    1) There seems to be more banding when there’s gradation/transition of a color
    2) Windows and the Web is more colorful but the colors are darker,
    3) people’s skin in videos look oversaturated

I’m not sure if this is because what’s meant to be expressed is being expressed more clearly or if there’s something wrong with the calibration. Please note that this is a laptop display (can only control brightness) which is definitely lower quality vs a decent external monitor.

I took pictures of noticeable differences with my Pixel 1 phone camera:
    https://imgrpost.com/nosauce/?list=images&sort=date_asc&page=1

– set 1 (pics 1-4): HP Website: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-spectre-x360-15-df0068nr