BenQ SW321 calibration w/PME & DisplayCal

Home Forums Help and Support BenQ SW321 calibration w/PME & DisplayCal

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Jonathan Furmanski
    Participant

Hello Everyone –

I’m new to DisplayCal and am very impressed with it so far, but I have a question about some of the results I’ve been getting:

When I use BenQ’s Palette Master Element app alone, I get some good-not-great results—e.g., an average DeltaE of ~1.5 with maximum errors between 3.5-4. I then tried using DisplayCal alone—going into a custom calibration slot, so not a hardware calibration—and got similar results.

Then I tried calibrating with DisplayCal on top of the PME calibration, meaning I did a hardware calibration with PME and then used DisplayCal to create a software calibration file based on the PME calibration, and the results were great—average DeltaE of around .9 and a maximum around 1.5.

My question is, since I don’t fully understand everything happening under the hood, is this a reasonable way to calibrate (an icc file on top of a hardware calibration)? I certainly prefer a calibration that’s fully hardware-based but better results are better results.

I’m using this with my MacBook Pro and an i1 Display OEM colorimeter. And I should mention I just saw the Eizo CS2740 and may upgrade to that, if units ever become available again in the US.

Thank you for any insight or advice!

Vincent
    Participant

Hello Everyone –

I’m new to DisplayCal and am very impressed with it so far, but I have a question about some of the results I’ve been getting:

When I use BenQ’s Palette Master Element app alone, I get some good-not-great results—e.g., an average DeltaE of ~1.5 with maximum errors between 3.5-4. I then tried using DisplayCal alone—going into a custom calibration slot, so not a hardware calibration—and got similar results.