BenQ SW320 and calibrating with DisplayCal question

Home Forums Help and Support BenQ SW320 and calibrating with DisplayCal question

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

LGabrielPhoto
    Participant

Hello!

So this monitor can save calibration to hardware directly which is one of the reasons I got it.
    I am assuming there is no way to do this when using DisplayCal so my only option is their own program?

Thanks

Willian Aleman
    Participant

A better calibration options is to use an external LUT box. I believe, this would bypass any limitation of the internal calibration and file created by the native software: 1 D LUT, ICC vs 3D LUT external installation on the LUT box.

However, I have no experience with BENQ display, but it’s well known that the majority of proprietary calibration softwares are short in features and flexibility and compared to third party calibration apps.

LGabrielPhoto
    Participant

Well the internal software is indeed driving me crazy. Like if I calibrate the monitor, I would expect that when setting up to run DisplayCal when you are supposed to adjust RGB , it will be very close to perfect if not perfect already yet is not even close. Also the program has its own validation which tells me is great after I run it but later on if I retry the validation the TEmp is reading like 2000k or so which I dont see as real at all so must be one weird bug.
    Anyways, I am down to using xrite i1 software instead and it seems to be giving me good results for now. But for that I may as well keep the PD3200 if I am not using the hardware calibration.
    Maybe is time to save for a Eizo lol

Willian Aleman
    Participant

When display calibration doesn’t match, which is the case with displays using different technology the only solution is perceptual calibrations.

There is no CalMAN,  Light Illusion nor DisplaCAL that is going to fix maramerism by using just numbers.

Have you tried perceptual calibration?

Vincent