Basic concepts help (Windows 10)

Home Forums General Discussion Basic concepts help (Windows 10)

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Nicola Farina
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’m quite new to the world of colors so I need some help clarifying me some concepts.

I’m calibrating two of mine PCs with different setup:
    PC1: Win 10 – 1 display (DELL U2715H)
    PC2: Win 10 – 2 display (DELL U2415 same revision)

Calibration system: X-Rite 1 Pro with DisplayCAL (Argyll driver)

Brightness
    My first action was to set brightness to 120 cd/m2 and then calibrate displays (RGB values) trying to stay as close as possible to 120 cd/m2. Is it right?

Contrast
    Let it set as display default value. Is it right? I’ve read that LCD are not really contrast adjustable.

Profile or not?
    I installed the generated profiles for my systems displays, but I want to be sure to understand concepts in the right way. Calibration without profile can be considerate a first step to achieve a gamut compliance? Is the profile a final step to correct the delta between calibrated display and real target colors?
    I have notice that if don’t load profiles, some applications show weird colors. If I use a standard display color mode (not custom colors with RGB controls, so a factory calibrated profile), Windows colors look more “conventional” to the way I used to.

Light grey tent to be a bit bluish
    The quite more understandable point  to me. With calibrated and profiled displays, I notice that some type of greys in Windows look a bit bluish (f.e. the URL bar of the new Chrome material design). This happen with some old Windows applications also: the standard window grey background is much more evident then uncalibrated mode and sometimes seem a bit “bluish” too. This happens more with my PC1 then PC2.

Is Windows 10 color managed or still depend on applications?