Apple iMac 27" display

Home Forums Help and Support Apple iMac 27" display

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Roman
    Participant

I am somewhat new to this app and forum, so please excuse me… but I would love to see If any of you use an iMac — many studios and people do either in studio or on location — so  I wanted to pick your brains for settings advice.

Over the last few years I have been using Spyder 4 Pro for my calibration.  Good results but even in my brief exposure to DisplayCAL it appears better.

Primarily I am a photographer and I retouch all of my own images… My trouble come in that, in addition to colors being accurate, I want to use the other advanced options to create smoother gradients (for retouching/dodging-burning, etc) and better shadow detail.

Watching some tutorials…

— it seems like there are some differences between calibrating to sRGB vs. Gamma 2,2
    –LUT and Curve is better than Matrix, etc. but some displays get confused by LUT.
    –L-star curve would help if I am using eciRGB as my workspace in Photoshop.
    …etc.

So it’s a bit confusing.

What do some of you do for this iMac display; what would you recommend to me?  ALSO, which proofing should I be using?

Thank you.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

I want to use the other advanced options to create smoother gradients (for retouching/dodging-burning, etc) and better shadow detail.

None of the calibration and profiling options will typically influence that, because in a color managed workflow, the inherent image properties define how it should look, and so it comes almost purely down to how accurate the monitor profile is and how precisely the color management is done by the respective imaging application that is being used (banding and quantization artifacts are often an effect of limited bit depth processing when not using proper dithering).

it seems like there are some differences between calibrating to sRGB vs. Gamma 2,2