Any Spectrometer?

Home Forums Help and Support Any Spectrometer?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

JacekK
    Participant

Hi Florian and thank you for all your hard work and the wonderful, wonderful software you created.

My question is this: does it matter which spectrometer one gets?

I am a video editor and colourist working in high-end facilities which regularly professionally calibrate their monitors however I also work at home and don’t have the budget to pay the professional to come out and calibrate my monitors (he charges $500 per monitor!).

For my Sony reference monitor I use the inbuilt self calibration utility and it works close enough to perfectly match the work monitors but my computer monitors are various colours and it disconcerts clients (and me!). For years I used my eyes and the X-Rite  i1 Pro and various borrowed Colorimeters with only modest success.

Having discovered your wonderful software I can get closer to matching them all but in reading your forums it seems a Spectrometer is the best solution for accuracy. As you know they sell for thousands of dollars on  eBay but occasionally one comes up for auction for around for an affordable price,  especially the EFI ES-1000.

Looking at your list of supported instruments it seems to be supported but is there any difference for calibrating to Rec. 709 between that model and X-Rite/GretagMacbeth i1 Pro or X-Rite i1 Pro 2? (The others you have listed NEVER come up for auction.) The professional guy above uses  a Colorimetry Research CR-250 for example. I know the X=Rites are all essentially for print but can I assume that for my purpose of video colour all spectrometers are the same in accuracy? Or do I need to bite the bullet and buy a $3000 one?

Thanks again!

Vincent
    Participant

These 2nd hand spectros may need some kind of re-certification which can be very expensive for high end models.