Absolute beginner needs help using Rawtherapee, Affinity Photo and IrfanView

Home Forums Help and Support Absolute beginner needs help using Rawtherapee, Affinity Photo and IrfanView

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Stahlin
    Participant

Hey,

In an attempt to get the best results for my  photography I used the i1 Display with my new LG 27UN83A (same model as LG 27UL850-W). Using the resulting ICC profile with DisplayCAL Profile Loader  actually didn’t really change the colors much, but just the contrast a little bit. Okay, so far so good, I guess the monitor was calibrated quite correctly when I recieved it.

But now I get utterly confused. My normal workflow is to develop my RAW images (from Sony A7ii) with RawTherapee and then I do some touch ups with Affinity Photo. Afterwards I look at them with IrfanView (or Windows Photo). I always had the problem that colours would look a little bit different in RawTherapee and Affinity Photo and I never knew which one was correct.

Do I need to set each individual software to the ICC profile or is this already handled by DisplayCAL Profile Loader through Windows (or GPU driver)? Or do I just leave them at the default settings?

I just edited a picture from my nieces birthday with the new calibration and looking at the final result with other devices such as my Laptop and my cellphone the colors look way off. I was going for a warm skin tone on my nieces face, but then on my other devices the whole picture now just has a pretty nasty yellow tint.

Can someone explain to me how to deal with the ICC profile in RawTherapee and Affinity Photo? Do I just leave everything on default (sRGB) or do I have the use the ICC file create by DisplayCAL?

Sorry, if this is a dumb question.

Best regards and many thanks in advance!

MW
    Participant