‎24G2U/BK Calibration Help

Home Forums Help and Support ‎24G2U/BK Calibration Help

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

KKeranov
    Participant

Hello, everyone! I am a hobbyist, who’s new to calibration, and would like to ask you for help. I have a ‎24G2U/BK, which as far as I understand, has wide color gamut support. I tried calibrating it with my cheap Spyder5PRO. However, post-calibration I get really washed out colors and some artifacts on pure black, which resemble banding, but I am not sure that’s what they are. Attached you will find my DisplayCAL settings and my verification results.

Thank you in advance for your help and have a great day!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

MW
    Participant

Consider upgrading to i1 Display series for better near black accuracy (and wider support for current and future tech). I got ~1500:1 contrast ratio on three 24G2U I tested. In the mean time you could try resetting the monitor to rule out OSD settings limiting contrast. If the Spyder underreports contrast the profiles near-black output will be more more gray than it needs to be.

Either way use DisplayCal profile loading to reduce banding. Gamma 2.2 is a better choice than sRGB tone curve because it closer to the native output. Alternatively select tone curve:as measured, it works well with novideo_srgb if you have a Nvidia GPU.

KKeranov
    Participant

Thank you very much for the detailed reply! I am fairly certain it’s not the monitor settings causing this. Setting the Gamma to 2.2 instead of the sRGB profile sounds like a good idea, I will give it a try! If it doesn’t work, it’s probably the cheap Spyder I have, as you said. I will upgrade to a better colorimeter in the future when I purchase a higher-end monitor, but for now the price just does not seem worth it, especially since I do not do much color-critical work. I will report back when I calibrate with the new settings. Thanks again!

KKeranov