TN Monitor calibration, gray tint.

Home Forums Help and Support TN Monitor calibration, gray tint.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

NeoGena
    Participant

Hey. I’m new in calibrating. Recently I purchased Spyder 5 Pro to calibrate my monitor. My monitor is XB271HUA, this TN monitor with a bad gamma. DisplayCAL reported that it has a gamma 1.87. Before buying the colorimeter, I used the settings in the NVIDIA control panel to get closer to gamma 2.2 and improve the contrast. And it looked good (no tint in gray)  and worked in games. But I wanted to try it through the colorimeter, and not by eye, and bought the device. My problem is that after 6 attempts of calibration (3 in the datacolor software and 3 in the displaycal) I only got 1 profile with non tint in gray colors in these tests http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/black.php and http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/gradient.php. And this profile was obtained after calibration through the software Datacolor. I read a lot about the fact that DisplayCAL calibrates much better, so I have a twist that I’m doing something wrong. In the calibration settings, I set the Color Temperature to 6500 and Gamma 2.2, also I tried the black point correction. But I still get green and red shades in gray colors.

Thank you in advance and I apologize for the bad English. I tried to find information on my questions, but I did not understand what I need to do. The photo shows what I see after the last attempt at calibration through DisplayCAL. I know that the phone camera and jpg format are very distorting the picture, but the photo shows what I see.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

please read through the FAQ regarding the use of test images.

You can try changing the profile loader quantization bitdepth to 8 bit (from the right-click popup menu).

Stephan
    Participant