New to calibration, need some guidance

Home Forums Help and Support New to calibration, need some guidance

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

xtnvieira
    Participant

Hello,

As the title suggests, I’m new to calibrating monitors but recently I’ve decided to take up freelance video/presentation editing (been doing it for years, but it’s not become a full-time gig for me).

As I’ve been getting my home work station set up, I decided to purchase a second monitor for to connect to my late 2012 15″ MacBook Pro Retina. I opted to purchase the Dell P2415Q (24″ 4K UHD) — a bit overkill for my current MBPr, I know, but I’ll be upgrading the computer in the next year to a newer model.

Like I said, I primarily am a video producer/editor but also design presentations for companies. This is the PRIMARY use I have for my new Dell monitor. SECONDARY is photo editing — my first question is rather simple, am I able to save multiple monitor color profiles and switch between them using DisplayCAL? I was considering having 1 profile for video/presentation editing and 1 profile specifically for photo editing.

More importantly, I’m having trouble understanding what setting I should be using to calibrate both of my displays.

As far as hardware is concerned, I opted to get the Spyder5Express based on price and reviews, but yesterday I realized I may not be able to properly calibrate my Dell monitor with the Spyder. It seems as though Dell monitors may require the use of i1 Display Pro, and are not compatible with the Spyder5? Can anyone confirm?

Additionally, I really am uncertain of what Display/Correction settings to choose for both the Dell & MBP options. Based upon research these are my best guesses:

Mode: LCD (generic)

Correction: LCD White LED IPS (will this work for my Dell and MBP?)

And what “Settings” profile should I be choosing?  For Dell: “Video (D65, Rec. 1886)” for my video needs, and “Photo (D50, Gamma 2.2)” for photo editing?