Mixing "as measured" and specified calibration values

Home Forums Help and Support Mixing "as measured" and specified calibration values

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

KLE-France
    Participant

Hi to all!

I’m relatively new to color management and very new to DisplayCal.

Before my question, here’s the nitty-gritty of my “Report on uncalibrated display device” (a  Dell P2414H):

Black level = 0.2224 cd/m^2
    50% level = 38.55 cd/m^2
    White level = 189.97 cd/m^2
    Aprox. gamma = 2.30
    Contrast ratio = 854:1
    White chromaticity coordinates 0.3103, 0.3280
    White Correlated Color Temperature = 6644K, DE 2K to locus = 5.5
    White Correlated Daylight Temperature = 6646K, DE 2K to locus = 1.0
    White Visual Color Temperature = 6435K, DE 2K to locus = 5.3
    White Visual Daylight Temperature = 6610K, DE 2K to locus = 1.0

So, my question has to do with whether I should 1) run DisplayCal with the white point, white level and tone curve set to “As measured”, or 2) instead set them to the usual 6500k, 120 cd/m2 and gamma 2.2, or 3) maybe, mix them…

I’ve already run one calibration/profiling using the 6500 – 120cd/m2 – 2.2 approach. Everything seems fine, but I’m wondering if I can do better.

In the data above, my uncalibrated approximate gamma is 2.30 and my uncalibrated color temperatures are bouncing around the 6500 mark anyway (if I’m reading that correctly).

But, that white level at 189.97 cd/m2 is going to be waaaay to bright for my needs.

So, my core question is this: Would it be advantageous – or harmful – to set “Whitepoint” to “As measured”, “Tone curve” to “As measured”, but impose a “White level” of “120 cd/m2” (or potentially even lower)?

I hope all that is clear. I’m asking a question in a field that I don’t completely understand, so don’t hesitate to correct my thinking if need be (particularly if I’m misunderstanding the uncalibrated data).

Thanks in advance!

KLE-France

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,