is it wise to buy X-Rite i1 Display Pro Plus now in 2022

Home Forums General Discussion is it wise to buy X-Rite i1 Display Pro Plus now in 2022

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author

bogas
    Participant

Good afternoon all

I’m new to color measure devices  and recently i am usign 3 monitors and want to calibrate them to have same color level and i seen on ebay a lot fo X-Rite i1 Display Pro Plus   or pro available and i want o ask you guys  if this is a good to go device and can i use let say calibrite  software on it as calibrite is new version of x-rite right ?

Can it be also used on windows 11 as one laptop at home has win 11 already 🙁

Or should I go with datacolor spiderX Elite ?

Calibrite Display Plus HL on Amazon   Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Ther is no other alternative than a Xrite’s i1d3, unless you go to veru higher budget.

Kuba Trybowski
    Participant

The i1 Display Pro Plus/Calibrite ColorChecker Plus is still X-Rite’s flagship colorimeter. They only changed it’s name.

It works with CC Profiler, which is just a rebranded and updated version of i1 Profiler. The app has bugs and isn’t as stable as it should be, but most of the time it gets the job done.

As far as I know, X-Rite/Calibrited stores its calibration matrices in the calibration software, so they can be easily updated when new display technologies emerge. This is the reason why the iDisplay Pro and Pro Plus have been around for years.

Reportedly, Datacolor stores its calbration matrices in the hardware, so you have to buy a new device every time you buy a display of new kind, like Apple’s Liquid Retina XDR.

In other words, the i1 Display Pro Plus might be a better long-term investment than the Spyder X.

SirMaster
    Participant

The i1 Display Pro or Plus are still by far the best colorimeters basically anywhere near the price (under thousands).