Help calibrating Asus PA247CV

Home Forums Help and Support Help calibrating Asus PA247CV

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Emily
    Participant

Hello! I’m trying to calibrate my monitor, I’m relatively new to this so I have a general understanding of the calibration settings but I’m having trouble figuring out what settings would be best to use in my specific situation.

My setup is:
    2020 Macbook pro -> thunderbolt -> Ultrastudio Mini Monitor 3G -> HDMI -> Asus PA247CV (not the best monitor, but it’s all I’ve got to work with at the moment)
    Calibrating with i1 Display Pro and DisplayCAL using the pattern generator workflow to create a 3D LUT for Davinci.
    I mostly work in Rec 709 2.4, so want to target that at 100cdm.

My questions are:

1. My monitor has a few presets – standard, sRGB, Rec 709, DCI-P3 and a couple user modes. The user manual doesn’t have any information about the monitor’s native gamut and gamma, so I’m not sure which setting to calibrate in. The user modes don’t allow RGB gain correction, so would standard or Rec 709 mode be best? I can’t discern much difference except that standard mode is automatically at 2.2 and measures at about 200cdm when I’ve tried calibrating, whereas 709 is at 2.4 and sits closer to 100cdm.

2. If I calibrate in standard mode, should I set the gamma to 2.4 on the monitor to match my calibration settings or leave it in 2.2?

3. Do I need to change any of the settings in the Desktop Video Setup for the Ultrastudio monitor? Currently all I’ve changed is the default video standard to 1080p25. Do any of the SDI output settings apply to me if I’m using HDMI?

4. Do my Davinci project settings affect the calibration at all? I’m using Davinci YRGB colour managed, with the colour management preset as Davinci wide gamut and output as Rec 709 2.4 because I want the most latitude possible but monitor in Rec 709 and also be able to export a DCI-P3 version for cinema screenings. Is this okay?