Finding a Monitor issue in DisplayCal

Home Forums Help and Support Finding a Monitor issue in DisplayCal

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Henry-In-FL
    Participant

I’m new to displayCAL but not new to color calibration. Just started with displayCAL, migrating from i1 Profiler product supplied software. I feel like I opened up Pandora’s box! Good job on the software. I have some questions in looking at a 2 year old Dell P2715Q 4K UHD display on my MacBook Pro (MBP) 2017. It is attached straight through via USB-C port from MBP. Mostly I operate in closed cover mode with two 4K displays.

My findings:

1. Light levels. It seems like the display default brightness level is 160 nits. I think this may be a bit too much for one monitor to handle. I see a significant amount of clipping in full white screen – with a gray scale after monitor setting in all default values is complete, visually I see the white portion as red while the remaining gray scale is good. I manually reduced the (hardware drive) off from 100 to 89%, and visually rebalanced the custom color RGB settings and this problem  goes away. It is a two year old display and I fear that I am over-driving the screen! What are your suggestions and how do I get there in the settings of the drives and balancing the colorimetry from there.
    2. I want to match the brightness and colorimetry to my newer Dell  model screen – a U2718Q. What results should I expect?
    3. How close a match can I expect to achieve to the two? I’m using the later model Dell for critical photo processing. What would you like to see to determine if there is a best match. Visually now, after my manual overriding adjustment, it’s pretty good. I’d like to put a number to it and improve it some more.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

It is a two year old display and I fear that I am over-driving the screen!