Factory-calibrated monitor

Home Forums Help and Support Factory-calibrated monitor

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Carlos Alcaide García
    Participant

Hi there!

First of all thank you all for developing such a great tool. I am no expert at all in this, so I would really appreciate a little help here.

I own a Spyder 5 and two ASUS PA248Q. My main purpose for this monitors will be video editing, photo editing, and color correction of both. I also watch some movies/videos sometimes. The monitors are supposed to be semi-pro, so they come with presets and factory color correction (or so they say!). There is a sRGB preset that looks nice, but the two screens don’t look the same even with all the factory presets reset. This is possibly because one is 6 months old and the other is brand new.

So I want to make sure that colors in both monitors are as close as possible to reality (I know, chimera and all), but I am not sure which presets/ options should I choose.

I did a previous interactive correction with in the “User 1” memory of my main monitor. I chose sRGB on DisplayCal and matched the monitor gains to the central points. Then it run all the measeurements… Aaaand I don’t think the result is very good, I’m not sure I’m seeing the whites whites.

Now I’m trying to run a non-interactive correction in the monitor sRGB factory preset (no gain-changing allowed), also with the sRGB correction; Does this make any sense?

I am quite confused about all the options in there, even after reading the documentation… Should I try the video correction? Do I need the black compensation? If anyone could tell me which way to go in every step that would be great.

I’m also not getting what the difference between Profiles and 3DLUT is. I know LUTs but just from Premiere/Resolve and I don’t get how to apply it here in addition to the profiles.

Thank you very much!

Carlos.

MW
    Participant