Creating display LUT for use in Resolve

Home Forums Help and Support Creating display LUT for use in Resolve

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Ashcharls
    Participant

Hi all, I’m a bit new to this so please correct me if this doesn’t make sense.

I’m working in davinci resolve with two DELL Ultrasharp monitors. I have calibrated the monitors with an i1Display Studio.

As I understand it, Resolve is not colour managed, so even though my monitors are calibrated, I’ll be seeing the ‘wrong’ or uncalibrated image in Resolve (when the viewer is displayed on the monitors I am using).

So I need to generate a 3D LUT in Displaycal which basically applies a compensation to the viewer as a LUT,  so the image I see in Resolve is affectively being colour managed to match the calibration of my monitor.

Is that right?

Currently, without this LUT I know that what I’m seeing in Resolve is ‘wrong’ because when I export, the file that comes out (whether it is QT, DPX, TIFF or whatever) looks different to what I see in Resolve. I’m viewing the output in Screen, which I use so I can check the colour management – using the management mode  ‘Embedded’. This looks the same as Quicktime. The only way I can get the output in Screen to match the look I see in Resolve is if I choose ‘Bypass’ from the Colour Management setting.

I have now generated a LUT in DisplayCal which I apply to the viewer in Resolve, and this means that the look in Resolve I am seeing is the same as the output I see in Screen (again, using the ‘Embedded’ colour management option).

My question is – have I done this right? Or is the look I was originally seeing in Resolve (and the one I was seeing in Screen with ‘Bypass’ enabled). The more accurate image?

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Ashcharls
    Participant