Complete Noob here asking for help

Home Forums Help and Support Complete Noob here asking for help

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Hamid Dedat
    Participant

Hi all,

Completely new here.

I am just wondering where i need to go to on this forum / site to learn to calibrate a tv?

I have an i1 Display Pro and want to calibrate a Panasonic 58DX902 TV (Really learn to calibrate it with lots of trial and error).

I want to calibrate for SDR TV on 1 setting, and HDR viewing on another setting. (Is this possible?)

All help would really be appreciated.

Thanks.

• This topic was modified 7 years, 3 months ago by Hamid Dedat.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I am just wondering where i need to go to on this forum / site to learn to calibrate a tv?

Are you looking to watch content on the TV via a HTPC? In that case, you may want to look into the madVR 3D LUT workflow (see the Wiki).

If you’re looking to adjust the TV for watching content from other sources than a PC (or if you don’t have a 3D LUT box like the eeColor), you probably want to have a look at HCFR instead.

Anonymous
    Inactive

just one note

i would not do a 3D LUT calibration unless your i1D3 is profiled against a spectrometer.

you may add  more errors than you have now.

dE for whites can be as large as dE4 from an nonprofiled to a profiled i1D3

i also wonder how do you fix the auto dimming with windows patterns when doing a 3D LUT profiling on these LCDs?

the only soultion is to calibrate with APL patterns to get stable results but madTPG doesnt have that function right.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

i would not do a 3D LUT calibration unless your i1D3 is profiled against a spectrometer.