Cherry/red tint after calibration (understanding how calibration works)

Home Forums Help and Support Cherry/red tint after calibration (understanding how calibration works)

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

caiokao
    Participant

Hi everyone.
    I’m new to this calibration world and I’m trying to understand how things work.

Here’s my equipment:

– Ozone DSP27 IPS (1440p, brand says 100% sRGB and 95% DCI-P3)
    – LG 29UM69G-B (1080p Ultrawide, 98% sRGB)
    – Windows 10, HDR Off

I work with video productions and editing.

What I did and my problem:

I’ve been using the LG for a long time. Got the Ozone as an ‘upgrade’.
    Bought the SpyderX Pro and used it’s software to calibrate the Ozone.
    I tried setting the white point as measured, 5000k, 5800k, 6500k, custom, but every single calibration ended up with this pink/redish white and the reds looking like cherry (don’t know if I’m using the best word to describe it. Sorry).
    At the end of the calibration there’s an image to see the before and after, and the peppers looked soooooo cherry/pink.

Tried DisplayCal with the same results.

I’ve returned the SpyderX and now I’m using a i1 Display Plus (a lot of people in the foruns saying that was a better device)

Using the ccProfiler software, I’ve set the white point to D65, adjusted the RGB channels throught the OSD of the Ozone, but in the end of the complete calibration the image looked red/cherry/pink again.
    When adjusting the RGB I’ve set the levels correctly following the instructions on the screen, and when the calibration ended I ran the quality check and the white point was really off.

With DisplayCal and i1 Plus, same result.

I noticed that when the calibration starts (white/black/grey squares, then colored ones) everything seems fine.
    Near the end of the process (80~90%, right before the creation of the profile), I can see all the image on the monitor shifting to this red tint.