Calibration too dark

Home Forums Help and Support Calibration too dark

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author

GoldenSW
    Participant

Hi, I tried calibrating an older Samsung TV (F6400) using displaycal 3.5.3 and spyder5express. Everything is too dark and I strongly believe something went wrong. I installed afterwards the official software which did a better job, even though it needed like 15 mins, in comparison to displaycal which took like 3-4 hours.  I must mention this is my first time using calibration hardware but I can’t see anything obvious that I did wrong. I installed the argyll driver and correction data from the tools menu, selected 2.2 gamma, white LED mode, 6500k, medium calibration speed, around 600 patches, black & white compensation. Screen didn’t turn off or anything like that during the process… I didn’t even touch my computer during the calibration.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

“too dark” compared to what? Run a verification.

If the TV has auto-dimming (which is hinted at in reviews), then that will mess with calibration/profiling and needs to be disabled. Reducing the number of measured patches will also help.

GoldenSW
    Participant

Well, for example it’s too dark compared to my already well calibrated gaming monitor.  In movies, there is a lot of detail loss around shadows. I checked http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/black.php and http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/contrast.php though and they looked fine. I don’t think it has any dimming features (at least any I can disable), since it is around 4-5 years old and even back then it was quite entry-level. Things I thought about:

1. Should I even try using other modes than white led?
    2. Should I reset the TV settings to default? I applied some video settings I found online some time ago before calibrating.
    • This reply was modified 6 years ago by GoldenSW.

Florian Höch
    Administrator