Calibration for Eye Stamina?

Home Forums Help and Support Calibration for Eye Stamina?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Spencer Grubb
    Participant

I’ve got an I1 Display Pro, and I’m reasonably good with DisplayCal, but I don’t really know where to start on settings that are easier on my eyes for productivity/office tasks.

I’m a stock trader. After squinting at charts and tiny numbers for 6 hours, I often find my eyes are literally burning.

I have an array of two stacked 32 inch monitors, with two vertical 27’s beside them. My main 32 is an Innolux IPS, and the other is a cheaper Samsung VA. I’m looking at these two most of the time.

I generally calibrate to 6500k white point. Would a cooler temperature be better?

The advice I most often see is to lower brightness. I usually calibrate to 160nits. However, I find that dimmer settings actually make it harder for me to read. Is this unusual? Could it be because of mediocre contrast (1000:1)?

Most text I read is white on a black background, if that makes any difference.

thanks

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Patrick1978
    Participant

The often recommended brightness of 80-120 nits is for photo or sdr video viewing in a dimly lit room. Outside of color critical work brightness should be user preference, so long as it’s not super bright in relation to the room lighting as that can cause eye strain.  That brightness is fine for a room with the lights on or a room that gets some sun.

If you’re room is somewhat bright you might try adjusting the brightness and color temp to be an approximate match the appearance of a piece of paper in your usual lighting conditions as having too much of a disparity between the screen and your surroundings may cause eye strain.