Calibrate in Wide Gamut or sRGB

Home Forums Help and Support Calibrate in Wide Gamut or sRGB

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

desilent
    Participant

I haven’t found anyone ask this specific question, so here it is:

1. I am new to calibrating and read through most the documentation, still theres some open questions I have.
    2. I bought 2 new monitors, 1: Asus PG279QM and 2. Asus XG27AQ
    3. The PG279QM has an sRGB clamp mode which I am using.
    4. the XG27AQ does not have a clamp mode, so it runs in Wide Gamut

Now the Questions

1. Is it beneficial to me to run the PG279QM in Wide Gamut aswell and THEN calibrate again or just use sRGB clamp? Use cases is just browsing(chrome)/gaming and some Photoshop/Premiere. I like faithful color presentation, the “more accurate”, the better. I don’t necissairly need it but I like it.
    2. I calibrated both monitors with the i1Display Pro and used the CCSS files that I found in the database for corrections. The 2nd monitor (wide gamut)  visually has a much brighter white. Although both are calibrated to 160cd/m² and 6500k with the Gamma 2.2 curve. Is there a way for me to make the white look more even or is this just something I have to live with? On the PG279QM the white almost looks yellow tintish.
    3. I calibrated last night (in complete darkness) and set up the RGB values on the monitor to read 6500k (ish) and have a deltaE of 0.0 on one monitor and 0.2 on the other. Today I figured I’d try it again for fun. Turned on the monitors waited 30minutes and I had to set up completely different RGB values to get to the 6500k and balanced colors. How can this be? Does a tiny bit of daylight (closed the sheets) change those values that drastically?

Thank you all for the help in advance.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

MW
    Participant