Calibrate Imac Pro for photo editing

Home Forums Help and Support Calibrate Imac Pro for photo editing

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

TheSwede
    Participant

Hi!

I am new to this and have been reading on different topics on the forum but can´t seem to find anything that answers my questions, so I hope I can get some help 🙂

I have a Imac Pro which I have calibrated with the x-rite 1display pro and DisplayCal with the following settings: WP: 6500k, Gamma 2.2, 120cd/m.

Once I installed the profile the screen colors become much warmer and when comparing the photos I edited through photoshop and capture one pro to 3 different phones, 1 ipad, 1 MBP 2018 and 1 MBP Touch 2018 they all appear colder. The default imac pro profile resembles these colors much better then the profile I created.

Now I know that screens that are not calibrated will not show colors correctly but on 5 different devices the colors are colder.

I would appreciate any help and advice I can get?
    – is the warmer cast correct?
    – correct settings?
    – Why is the photos colder on all other devices tested on.
    – How good is the default color profile for photo editing?
    – In the editing software I use the Srgb color setting (my work is uploaded online), is this correct?

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

what’s the year of this iMac Pro? Which correction did you use (if any)?

– How good is the default color profile for photo editing?

You can check this on the “Verification” tab by running a measurement report (assign the default profile in System Settings -> Display -> Color, then in DisplayCAL under settings select “<Current>”).

– In the editing software I use the Srgb color setting (my work is uploaded online), is this correct?

If the images you are editing are in the sRGB color space (e.g. have an embedded sRGB profile), then yes.

TheSwede
    Participant

Hi!