Basic Question: How to determine contrast ratio?

Home Forums Help and Support Basic Question: How to determine contrast ratio?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

tripletmonad
    Participant

Hello,

I have a colormunki display and use DisplayCAL GUI on Windows. I’m trying to determine the contrast ratio of a new monitor of mine, the LG 27GL850 (btw if you know this monitor and have any tips for calibration please let me know).

I’m not sure where to see what its measured contrast ratio is and I haven’t been able to search or find where that’s recorded. Any help would be great, thanks.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Dingus Bongus
    Participant

I’m new to this, but think I know the answer.

If you run the final tab that lets you check your calibration, it will do another set of patches and gives you a very detailed report on the calibration, including contrast ratio.

tripletmonad
    Participant

I’m a little bit dense perhaps. I know the report, titled Profile Information. There are a lot of values there including Media black point, illuminant  relative XYZ, etc. But what calculation needs to be done given the information in Profile Information to get  the ratio?

• This reply was modified 4 years, 7 months ago by tripletmonad.

Patrick1978
    Participant

There are a couple way to do this.

After you’ve created a profile there should be a Verification tab with a green check mark to the right.  Go there, make sure the Simulation profile check box is unchecked and run through the measurements.  It’ll create an html page with a load of information including the contrast ratio.

Another way is Tools menu > Report > Report on calibrated display.  this will do some quick measurements and give some basic info including contrast ratio.