10 bit vs 8 bit

Home Forums General Discussion 10 bit vs 8 bit

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

pl.marasco
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m a DisplayCAL enthusistic but I’m still learning how to use it… I would like to check if my NVIDIA Quadro K620 connected via Displayport (MST) to an Asus PA279q is actually working at 10 bits.
    Both the NVIDIA panel and Photoshop settings have been properly configured, the drivers are the only ones provided by asus, and those NVIDIA drivers are the latest available.
    Using the test “10 bit test ramp.psd” the result I get on the monitor that should be 10 bit is the same as that of the 8 bit monitor not connected via DP.
    Is there a way through DISPLAYCAL to “certify” that the monitor is working at 10 bit I tried to look at in the calibration report but the only parameter I found refers to 256 so it would make me suspect that the monitor returns a range to 8bit.
    Thank you,

L.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

Using the test “10 bit test ramp.psd” the result I get on the monitor that should be 10 bit is the same as that of the 8 bit monitor not connected via DP.

Photoshop uses OpenGL. With nVidia, 10-bit OpenGL requires a Quadro graphics card.

Vincent
    Participant

Hi everyone,

[…]

I would like to check if my NVIDIA Quadro K620 connected via Displayport (MST) to an Asus PA279q is actually working at 10 bits.

[…]

Quadro drivers may use some kind of dithering when drawing those 10bit OpenGL surfaces in monitors not capable of 8bit, or limited to 8bit by configuration.
    That dithering could be indistinguishable from actual 10bit output = smooth, no bands.

NEC had a test in its web for their 10bit monitors. It’s an app that renders a 10bit surface in a small screen and it will fail if no 10bit support. AFAIK it is not limited to their monitors so you can try it.

pl.marasco
    Participant

Hi all,