Windows 10 & Spyder 3 – driver help

Home Forums Help and Support Windows 10 & Spyder 3 – driver help

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

geldo
    Participant

Hi,

I am new to DisplayCal and I am trying  to install the Spyder3 driver but the “Install Argyll CMS instrument drivers” item in the Tools menu is disabled. Thank you for your help!

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

you need to have Argyll CMS. In the “File” menu, select “Locate Argyll CMS executables…”.

geldo
    Participant

Thank you very much! Now I have Display=Dell U2410, Instrument=Spyder3, Mode=LCD (generic), Correction=Matrix: Datacolor Spyder3 & Dell DELL U2410 (X-Rite ColorMunki) and White, black level drift compensation both unchecked. Is that OK? Thanks again.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

That seems fine.

geldo
    Participant

Well, the measurement report (attached) shows that there is something wrong I think. Maybe it is the monitor, the colorimeter, or both? Or it is just the report too “picky”? Thanks!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Your monitor doesn’t seem to be a good fit for a matrix profile (if I recall correctly, this is  well known problem of this particular monitor in its native gamut mode). Try a LUT profile instead.

geldo
    Participant

What do you mean by “try a lut profile”? Is it a DisplayCal option? Thanks!

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Yes. You can use the existing calibration (set tone curve to “As measured” on the calibration tab and disable interactive display adjustment, then use the existing calibration when asked later). To create a LUT profile, increase the patches slider on the “Profiling” tab to at least 425. This should automatically switch the profile type to LUT (you can see it reflected in the profile name).

• This reply was modified 7 years, 11 months ago by Florian Höch. Reason: Typo

geldo
    Participant

Thanks, I will try it.

geldo
    Participant