So many questions :)

Home Forums General Discussion So many questions :)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Edge
    Participant

Hi all,

I have so many general questions which I need to help me really understand this tool, and calibration/profiling in general, that I’m just going to dump them here with the hope I get some answers:

Let me first start off by explaining a bit what I hope to achieve and what HW/SW I’m using. I’m an engineer/photographer, hoping to achieve the best colour accuracy in my images by working in a calibrated, profiled and colour managed environment. I predominately export for Web Viewing/digital Viewing only, so mostly sRGB space, and sometimes for print. I work with Mac, X-Rite i1 Pro, Lr, PS, DisplayCal and ArgyllCMS.

1. It’s pretty well known that Mac’s aren’t very good for calibrating  Wide-Gamut displays, due to the whole 8bit vs 10bit story, but if this is the case, how do they calibrate their own wide-gamut display’s?
    2. I’ve  recently calibrated by own wide-gamut display (DELL’s U2413) which I had to use a Windows machine for, running the  DCCS software from  DELL. For the RGB values I decided to manually enter them into the DCCS SW for calibrating the displays 3DLUT to CAL2. For this, I took a DisplayCal html measurement report, selected xyZ from the drop-down and took a note of the measured X and Y values for RG and B. I did this after reading how to do it on another forum, but I’m not quite sure what I’ve actually done. Could someone here explain this process in more detail to  me?
    3. If I purchased another monitor, say an LG for arguments sake, how would I go about calibrating it’s 3DLUT table. Do I need factory SW (like the DCCS from DELL) or can this be done via DisplayCal?