MacBook 16″ issue with gradients

Home Forums Help and Support MacBook 16″ issue with gradients

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Igor Sinitsin
    Participant

Dear DisplayCal community,

A calibration newbie here experiencing issues with my first calibration.

What I have: MacBook Pro 16″ retina, calibrated with i1 Display Pro using t DisplayCAL 3.8.9.3. I created a new profile as suggested by the community in these forums (super helpful!): 6500K white point, Gamma 2.2, no Black Point Correction. The single curve + matrix profile has been created with black point compensation.

Overall, the profile verification has shown everything to be very accurate with minimal deviations. However, I noticed that dark greys on the images to not appear as high contrast as they should be.

Having created a simple black to white gradient in Photoshop and saved it in JPG, attached below is what it looks with the standard screen profile and with my newly created profile. As you can see, the “default” monitor profile is showing a slow gradient from black to white, while the newly created profile omits the darkest shades of grey, with an obvious difference between the black and grey noticeable on the photo of the screen that I took.

I tried all different settings, as well as attempted to create new profiles with i1Profiler – unfortunately, the results always remain the same.

I am sure I am missing something in my calibration settings and it is just my newbie mistake. Can you please advise on how this can be resolved, and what am I doing obviously wrong?

Thanks a lot!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Igor Sinitsin
    Participant

For the reference, attaching the validation report – perhaps that helps!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant