Low contrast post-calibration

Home Forums Help and Support Low contrast post-calibration

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Ferdy
    Participant

hi!

New here, so please be wary of my ignorance. I’m new to calibration, not an expert on screen technologies and jargon, and also new with this software. I’ll try to include as much information as I can to explain my problem.

Goal: I’m an amateur wildlife photographer. My primary reason to calibrate is color temperature, I don’t want my photos to appear too hot or too cold. A secondary reason is exposure, they should not be too dark or  too light either, yet color temperature is definitely the most important of the two problems.

My monitor is the Alienware AW3418DW. The screen is mostly used at night (no daylight) in a dimly lit personal office. Lighting are dim spot lights, none directly pointed at the screen. I started out using this screen out of the box yet after some reading followed the advise from TFT Central to use it in custom color mode: RGB‎: ‎93, 93, 100.

Yet this did not really take away my low trust in it being accurate, hence I purchased a SpyderX Pro and used their software. Prior to calibration, I put the monitor back in standard mode and also ensured no Nvidia color settings were applied. During calibration, I increased brightness using OSD to meet their target indicator, and that’s it.