Gamut Coverage values too low when using XYZ LUT + Matrix vs Curves + Matrix

Home Forums General Discussion Gamut Coverage values too low when using XYZ LUT + Matrix vs Curves + Matrix

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

France Dia
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to calibration, can someone help explain what’s going on?
    The monitor (LG 32UN650) is advertised as a 95% DCI-P3, and it shows a result close to that (93-94%) when using Curves + Matrix Profile type.
    When switched to anything with LUT, the results sink to 71% and the graph shape quite is unusual (to me at least and compared to my other monitor)
    All of the trials are with HDR off.
    I’ve attached a report, a screen shot of the graph, and a 3d view of it (ignore the naming error on the file name)

If anyone has any idea why this is happening, let me know,
    It is a new monitor and if this some kind of issue, please let me know to get it replaced (I doubt it’s a screen issue though)

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant

There may be several causes like:
    a) display is bad behaved
    b) there is some image enhancement running on gpu or monitor, find it & turn it off

Lowering patch value to a minimum while keeping manual choice of XYZLUT, like 5^3 ~ 120 patches may help you find the weird behavior

France Dia
    Participant

Thanks Vincent,
    I reset the drivers and the monitor, the situation seems to have significantly improved,

I’ve attached the report below,
    Any advice on how I can fix these off values? my monitor has RGB adjustment, and “six color” adjustments which are RGB CMY Hue and Saturations

Thanks again

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant

Thanks Vincent,
    I reset the drivers and the monitor, the situation seems to have significantly improved,