avid client monitor calibration

Home Forums Help and Support avid client monitor calibration

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

gizmo
    Participant

Hi, I am new to Displaycal so please let me know it I have this workflow all wrong!

I work on Avid Media composer as a freelancer so gear is constantly changing.

I am trying to find a solution to calibrate my client / 3rd monitor which is usually a plasma, led or sometimes oled. They are generally domestic models. The output for video from the software can be either via a Avids Nitris breakout box, AJA T taps or blackmagic boxes which travels as HDSDI or HDMI depending on what gear I have on that job.

Avid can import a LUT so in theory if I could measure test patches sent from avid on the client monitor with my i1 xrite pro then I could generate a LUT, import that into avid and my colours would be offset to bring the client monitor into line better.

If it were resolve I could use the in built monitor calibration option within its software to run the calibration process but avid does not offer anything like this. So I think my only option is the un-tethered pathway.

I am thinking I could bring in test patches from the test chart editor into avid. However avid works in rec709. I need to know if the patches exported from test chart editor are srgb or rec709. Are there options or somewhere I can check what they are being exported as?

Is there any advice on this situation someone could offer?

(Ultimately it would be great if the facility that owns the gear calibrated it but after 20 years of trying I am still rarely able to get it to happen. )

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

So I think my only option is the un-tethered pathway.

Generally I don’t recommend the untethered path as it’s slow and error-prone to setup especially if you’re just starting, but it may be useful as a last resort. There’s a Wiki page that may help in setting it up.