Advice on understanding white toness and black levels

Home Forums General Discussion Advice on understanding white toness and black levels

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

grcd84
    Participant

I am new to the world of calibration using tools – having in the past relied mostly on my eyes to do this, as well as printed comparison images. I did not have a big budget for this, so I bought an old Spyder3 TV and I do not mind that it is slow. I do not have expectations for perfection, just for adequately accurate color tones. Most importantly, I am trying to get consistency between 4 different monitors that I am using.

I followed instructions which I believe were given for those who want to maximize dark blacks, against a set 120 CDM brightness. While I think colours improved in terms of accuracy, I did not end up with 4 identical calibrations: white tone is different on all 4 monitors; black levels are obviously off; and even colours seem to have differences. 3 out of 4 monitors are actually quite good in colour but the other one is very off. Same settings were used for all 4, and exact same ambient light conditions.

1. I had used a low-level room light on at night; to replicate the most typical working conditions. I know some recommend I turn all lights off – but this is not my typical working environment.
    2. I used the lowest possible blacks – because I am happy to maximize potential contrast and to have the deepest blacks possible for each screen. One ended with ‘blue-ish’ blacks, the other one with mostly a grey tone, and one with very impressive blacks. I did not expect perfect uniformity for this, as different monitor has different capability, but I wanted more overall uniformity if possible.