Which one is worth buying?photometer or colorimeter?

Home Forums General Discussion Which one is worth buying?photometer or colorimeter?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

zslsz
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’m new to learning color correction, try to calibrate the color of my different monitors. I’ve read quite some posts and I think I probably understand the difference between a photometer and a colorimeter. But I’m confused about which model to choose.

I already know Xrite i1 Display Pro Plus same as Calibrite ColorChecker Plus, is Calibrite Display Plus HL same too? If  not, which one is worth buying?

I also saw used i1 pro2 in my budget, they have many models, like basic, photo, plus and more. Are they have the same hardware just with software limitations, does this mean I could buy the most basic model and just use displaycal? And these used i1 pro2 are six or seven years old from the factory, does that affect the results?

If both models I asked about are worth buying, which one should I get? or should I buy both to get the best results.

Calibrite Display Plus HL on Amazon   Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

You want an i1d3 and you may want an i1pro2/i1Studio too, as complement to colorimeter.

JohnD
    Participant

You definitely don’t want to calibrate with a i1Pro2 as it’s extremely slow.

The only use case that makes sense is to use it to create a colorimeter correction for your i1d3.

But it has poor resolution and it struggles on some newer backlight technology to the point of being useless.

Today, I wouldn’t elect to buy one (I have both i1d3 and i1pro2).