Totally new to screen calbration. Can’t decide which calibrator to buy ??

Home Forums Help and Support Totally new to screen calbration. Can’t decide which calibrator to buy ??

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 39 total)
  • Author

Ankit
    Participant

Hello everyone !!

I am total newbie to screen calibration. Wanted to choose between “X-Rite i1 Display Studio  or Spyder X Pro”. Mainly want it to edit & color grade videos & pictures. Can be helpful in normal printing stuff too. Can’t go for any higher budget. Kindly suggest which one from both will work best with DisplayCal ??

Which one will provide more consistent results & mode fidelity when it comes to natural colors to provide an honest base for video editing to happen & one which is more durable & value for money ??

Can i color calibrate lcd TV or Smartphone too with any of these ??

Will be highly grateful to everyone’s response.

• This topic was modified 2 years, 6 months ago by Ankit.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon   SpyderX Pro on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Kuba Trybowski
    Participant

DisplayCAL is an app for advanced users, not beginners.

If you’re a beginner, there’s an excellent YT channel with X-Rite-specific calibration tutorials, which I highly recommend:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWEYAVNm0jI5az9MjR9SoHw

Although they are eclusively for the more expensive models (the i1 Display Pro, Pro Plus nad i1 Studio, which use CC Profiler/i1 Profiler, rather than CC Studio/i1 Studio), they are very user-friendly and easy to understand. You can also talk directly to the author.

Go for the i1 Studio  colorimeter and the latest version of the CC Studio app (formerly X-Rite i1 Studio):

https://calibrite.com/us/software-downloads/

For image editing use the following settings:

Brightness/luminance: 80 cd/m2

White point: D65 or 6500K

Gamma: 2.2

Tonal response curve: Standard

Contrast: Native