Questions for Using DisplayCAL for Resolve

Home Forums Help and Support Questions for Using DisplayCAL for Resolve

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

carloscfrias
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I recently adquired the Calibrite Colorchecker Display Plus mainly for color grading. I use the GUI color viewer in my 2017 iMac Pro.

So, as I’m fairly new to all of this, I have a few questions that I hope some of you can help mi with:

-If I’ve calibrated my  screen using DisplayCAL, why should I also make a lut for the color viewer? I’ve checked and the GUI color viewer changes when you change the icc profile in the computer so it should be already showing accurate colors, right? I only can think of the case in which I’ve set the display to a certain gamma and the video I’m grading is in some other.

– As I’ve understood, the icc profile doesn’t limit the display to any color gamut in particular, just profiles what the display is capable of. So, how do I know if my display is correctly decoding the signal? My displays covers roughly the DCI-P3 gamut, should I have a DCI-P3 to BT.709  monitor lut every time I’m grading video for broadcast?

I know these may be silly questions but I’m starting to get into the color management world and it’s a bit overwhelming, so any help is much appreciated.

Thank you!

Calibrite Display Plus HL on Amazon   Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I recently adquired the Calibrite Colorchecker Display Plus mainly for color grading. I use the GUI color viewer in my 2017 iMac Pro.

So, as I’m fairly new to all of this, I have a few questions that I hope some of you can help mi with: