Passable report or something gone wrong?

Home Forums Help and Support Passable report or something gone wrong?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Gabriel Sagatun
    Participant

Hey, guys. So I’ve now attempted to calibrate all my sceens, but seeing as I’m completely new to color calibration, I don’t really know how to read the measurement report.
    These screens will not be used in any professional manner, strictly for gaming and browsing.  The screen in question is the AW2721D,. I used mostly default options when calibrating, choosing 6500k for whitepoint and a spectral correction profile for this specific monitor. I adjusted the RGB levels on the monitor beforehand, and chose a brightness of 160 luminance, as that was the lowest I could have it for comfortable viewing in my room.

I apologize if I am one of many who “spam” this forum for help, but I really do appreciate any help/insight so that I can better understand how this whole process works and if I should be satisfied with my current ICC profile or re-calibrate.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant

1- What do you want to do?
    It seems that that display is a P3 oriented to gamer target… but it’s P3, not sRGB.
    If you want that monitor for hobbyst PS/LR & other color managed apps it could be fine just using that profile & displaycal calibration loader.
    If you want to play games or use non color managed software meant to display sRGB/Rec709 you’ll see all oversaturated. If this applies to you first use satuation controls on display and another ArgylLCMS tool (command line or HCFR for windows, use same colorimeter correction, very important!!) to get simulated primaries close to sRGB ones, or use some sRGB factory preset if available. One you have some OSD mode which simulated primaries are close to sRGB do what you did in displayCAL to calibrate white & grey.