How to implement colorimeter correction files

Home Forums Help and Support How to implement colorimeter correction files

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

David Brown
    Participant

First, I’m new to DisplayCAL. I am very impressed with what you’ve created. Thank you for doing so. (I’m also made a donation.)

I have a Spyder5 and i1 Display Pro. The first time I ran DisplayCAL with each one connected to my Mac, the popup window inquiring if I wanted to download colorimeter correction files appeared. In each case I did so. In each case, a file was downloaded into my Downloads folder. (For the Spyder, a .bin file was downloaded, but it only expands into another compressed file which, in turn, expands into the same .bin file.) However, I can not figure out what to do with the files. In DisplayCAL’s Correction menu, nothing for either of my monitors or colorimeter’s appears. I attempted to use DisplayCAL’s Choose  colorimeter correction… option, but neither of the downloaded files would open.

I’m speculating there isn’t colorimeter correction data available for my monitor and colorimeter – but if so, what was downloaded?

Mac Pro (late 2013), macOS 10.12.6, DisplayCAL 3.3.5, HP DreamColor Z27x, Asus PB278, Spyder5Elite, i1 Display Pro

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

thank you for your generous donation 🙂

In DisplayCAL’s Correction menu, nothing for either of my monitors or colorimeter’s appears.

The Spyder5 corrections are available as measurement modes. There are seven modes total for the Spyder5.

The i1 DisplayPro on the other hand offers spectral corrections (9 total) for various display technologies in the corrections dropdown.

what was downloaded?

You can delete the downloaded files, they are only needed temporarily (to automatically extract and import the correction data).

David Brown
    Participant

Florian,