Colors too strong after calibrated

Home Forums Help and Support Colors too strong after calibrated

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Matias
    Participant

As a newbie I bought a Dell UP2716D monitor, which has very wide gamut capabilities. I just want the standard calibrated 100% sRGB in 6500K with gamma 2.2 for photos and videos.

So after I calibrated it with my i1 Display Pro and thousands of patches, results are very good in theory (99,7% coverage, low dE, see attached). But in practice, I feel my basic colors are  too strong. If I take a picture of colorful things like children toys with my Nikon DSLR and compare the picture on my monitor with what I saw, the basic colors (intense reds, blues and greens) are way too saturated compared to real life.

I do not want to work with extended color spaces (P3, Adobe RGB, etc). I know I would be “wasting” my monitor capabilities by working sRGB only, but still.

Any suggestion of how to set up calibration so that things just look right and natural for me?

• This topic was modified 4 years, 11 months ago by Matias.
    • This topic was modified 4 years, 11 months ago by Matias.
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Your profile shows full native gamut, so you calibrated& profiled Standrad OSD mode os Custom Color OSD os something close to that.

If you want to limit your display to sRGB:

-use Dell Ultrasharp Color Calibration Solution (DUCCS 1.6.x, I think, search Dell website) and write a hardware calibration with a sRGB or sRGB-like target (Custom xy: sRGB xy primaries for R , G , B, choose D65 white, 2.2 gamma and your desired brightness)
    Then validate results with DisplayCAL (RGphosphor spectral correction if you want to use the same as DUCCS, although it may use WLED PFS phosphor “Panasonic VVX…”)

or