Basic Calibration help for a total newb

Home Forums Help and Support Basic Calibration help for a total newb

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author

Samskihero
    Participant

Hey Everyone, the past 5 days I’ve been trying to calibrate my monitors and learning about color calibration (trying to get the best calibration as I don’t trust the calibration I’ve been getting) and I’ve soaked up so much information & misinformation from posts from forums along the way that my brain is now fried I’m more lost than ever further from getting things right and at a point, I just want to get it over with haha!

I need two calibrations

• One for photos editing Photoshop, LightRoom, Design work > Always intending for output to WEB not PRINT
    • One more for video REC709 for Davinci Resolve (Not a video lut) > Always intending for output to WEB, not Broadcast/TV

Specs

I have an Xrite i1 Display, and a VA Panel I guess LCD White (Samsung LC27JG50QQUXEN 27-Inch WQHD Monitor)

I’m simply trying to get the best out of what I’ve got, The colors from my current calibrations look better but I’m really struggling with Gamma. This isn’t rocket science but and with all the info I’ve sucked up it feels like it’s a world I’m not apart of so looking to get this over with hehe!

Any help would save me days more work lol!

Vincent
    Participant

If you want help, its better to detail what you did and what you get. For example:

-screenshots of each DisplayCAL “tab” to see which configuration & settings you choose
    -attach profile, so people can inspect it: gamut, white, TRC, spot some user made misconfiguration from calibration curves…
    -a verification report of display profile against calibration, to see calibration results (gamma , white, range) and if profile matches that calibration

Otherwise… it is extremely difficult to help you.

If that monitor is a common sRGB LED monitor (IDNK), basic setup works fine for most people:
    -all to defaults